I’m Crossing the Pond

I have big news.

I’ve been holding on to this post for a while, unsure when to actually make my plans public. But this morning I woke up and thought, “Screw it. I’m putting it on the blog.”

I’m going back to England in January.

If you had told me a month ago that my next adventure is right around the corner, I don’t think I would have believed you.  It’s been a whirlwind few weeks, watching my dreams solidify into something tangible.

A few weeks ago, I published a particularly depressing post  where I vented about feeling directionless.   I shared it on Facebook and, a few hours later, got a text from my aunt recommending a ministry called L’Abri.

What is L’Abri?  It’s a ministry that integrates intellectual study with everyday life.  Half of the time is spent studying theology and discussing hard questions in Christianity.  The other half is spent contributing to everyday life in the form of everyday, practical tasks.  It’s an open door for anyone wanting to stay.  All you have to do is let them know you’re coming.  There is a cost, but it’s not high.

I did some research and tucked L’Abri in the corner of my mind.  Within the next week, it seemed to crop up everywhere… which made me stop in my tracks and begin to hope.  As I curled up in bed at night, I imagined myself there, living in an old manor house, engaging intellectually with the faith that is the center point of my life.  Once the idea took root, there was no stopping back.

I decided to send an email.  It’s amazing how a single message can change your course.  I inquired about their openings for their Spring term, never expecting them to say yes.

A week and a half later, here I am, L’Abri confirmation letter in one hand and a one-way ticket to Europe in the other.  I’ll be crossing the pond a few days before my program begins to give myself time to recover from jet lag and wander the streets of London, my favorite city in the world.  I’m going to buy my return ticket later, as I hope to do some traveling when my program is done.  I’ve got a friend studying abroad in Berlin that I might visit and I don’t want to pass by an opportunity to visit my Austrian friends.

It’s hard to believe that this is my life.

There is so much to accomplish in the next month and a half, but for the first time in ages, I have direction.  It’s a scary step, uprooting myself and moving across the globe all on my own.  But it feels right. I’m torn between terror and wild excitement and couldn’t be more content.

I’ll end this with a fitting quote from my hero, J.K. Rowling.  

5 thoughts on “I’m Crossing the Pond

  1. brittabottle November 21, 2015 / 11:04 pm

    WOOWWWWW. That is big news, Amelia. Congratulations! Can’t wait to hear more about your adventure. You’re right, having direction is a wonderful feeling. I’m not quite sure where life will bring me after Thailand, but right now I feel fulfilled. More importantly, I feel like I am on the right path in that my future lies in the field of education in some way, shape, or form… And that is most important. Uprooting oneself is super scary, but it’s also incredibly rewarding. If you’d like any advice on being an expat, let me know. I have two months under my belt at this point…it’s not much, but it’s something! Good luck!:)

    • Amelia November 24, 2015 / 7:56 am

      Thanks, Britta! In a way, having that first step figured out is the crucial point in direction. Once you have some ground beneath your feet, you have a sense of where you want to go. I’m looking forward to seeing where your teaching experience takes you. And who knows where going to England will take me? I’m excited to figure that out.

  2. Katie November 23, 2015 / 6:49 pm

    That’s so exciting! I look forward to reading more about your travels and exploration of Christianity!

    • Amelia November 24, 2015 / 7:57 am

      Thanks, Katie!

Leave a comment