England Bound

Today is the day.  I’m still a mixed bag of emotions, but am ready for what lies ahead.

On the threshold of a journey, I can’t help but think of the quote that inspired the title of this blog:

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.” J.R.R. Tolkien

This quote goes with me not only in my heart, but physically.  I got a necklace bearing Tolkien’s words for Christmas (Pictured below).

It’s a dangerous, wonderful, messy, beautiful world.  As I go, I need to keep my feet, always remembering who I am and where I came from, lest I lose my way.

Sadly, I can’t promise frequent blog posts from this point onward.  Once I reach L’Abri, I’ll be relatively off the grid.  But, hopefully, I’ll be able to find ways to post every once and a while.

So, dear readers, wish me luck.  The time has come to step onto the road and begin my journey…

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

2 thoughts on “England Bound

  1. Katie Morley January 8, 2016 / 11:29 am

    Amelia! I am so excited for you on this adventure! I only regret that I missed any chance of seeing you before you left. I look forward to hearing any updates you’re able to give on your adventures! Much luck and love!

    -Your halfwit

    • Amelia January 8, 2016 / 1:26 pm

      Thanks so much, Katie! I wish I could have seen you too–the holidays were so crazy that I didn’t make much of an effort to see anyone. Be sure to keep in touch! Love you lots, halfwit! 🙂

Leave a comment