Weekend Coffee Share: Transitions & Exiting Hermit-Mode

If we were having coffee, we’d be out on the back deck soaking in the sunshine.  Although Northern Minnesota has been hit with enormous rainfalls over the past week resulting in record flooding, we’ve managed to evade all the severe weather.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I turned down a job this week.  After multiple interviews, a site visit, and several weeks of intense thought, I decided that being an Assistant Manager at a resort just wasn’t the right route for me.  There were so many factors against it personally and professionally.  When it came down to it, I just wasn’t willing to make a two year commitment to a job that wouldn’t pay enough to save for grad school in an area with little to no housing options.  I think I’ve made the right decision.

In the meantime, I’ve been applying to more library jobs and praying desperately that I’ll get a call from one of them.  I’m getting itchy to move on and I know my family feels the same.

There are days when I feel very lost amid this transition period.  I look at my college peers who have jobs and apartments and it’s hard to not feel like I’m behind.  It’s hard not to be envious at points.  But I need to remind myself that this is MY journey, not theirs.  It’s happening at a different pace and that’s okay.  When the fit is right, I’ll get a job, an apartment, and will be on my way.

I’m learning that it takes a lot of imagination to look for jobs.  What would it be like to do this?  What would it be like to live in this city?  With every week and every application, I completely reimagine what the future could look like.  The decision I make here will affect my entire life moving forward, which is daunting.  But, again, when the fit is right, it’ll happen.

Processed with VSCO with a7 preset
I rarely take selfies, but the lighting was perfect this morning and I was wearing one of my new dresses.  So I indulged.

If we were having coffee, you would know that, although I’ve been basically a hermit for the past few weeks, I’m finally getting out into the world again.  I visited a college friend this week–she made me dinner and showed me her new apartment.  It was really great catching up and talking about the struggles that come with this time of life.

Yesterday, my Mom and I spent the afternoon at the Mall of America.  I’ve been stocking up on business clothes for when I eventually get a professional job and was excited to buy three new dresses at H&M.  In addition, I was able to make a bunch of catches in my first real foray into Pokemon Go–which is hard to get into when you live and work on a farm and rarely leave.

This afternoon, I’m off to see the new Ghostbusters with my childhood best friend, which should be fun.

It’s time to turn things over to you–what would you share over coffee?

This post is part of the Weekend Coffee Share link up at Part Time Monster

4 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Transitions & Exiting Hermit-Mode

  1. Diana July 17, 2016 / 5:02 pm

    Hope you enjoy the movie and catch some Pokemon while you’re out!

    I can definitely sympathize with the stress of looking for a job and being aware of what everyone else is doing while you’re still trying to get things together—story of my life! lol But it will all come together, and we are all on our own journeys, as you said.

    • Amelia July 17, 2016 / 10:04 pm

      Thanks, Diana! It’s amazing how isolated job hunting and figuring out the future can be, but then you turn around and realize that there are so many others in the same boat. It’s definitely comforting! I hope things pull together for you as well.
      And I did manage to catch some Pokemon while out and about today. 🙂

      • Diana July 17, 2016 / 10:43 pm

        🙂 Glad you had a good time, and thank you!

  2. brittabottle July 17, 2016 / 8:34 pm

    Ah, so glad you did what’s best for you, Amelia. I turned down a really awesome writing and editing position through my temp agency because it was about a half an hour away from DC and not metro accessible. Plus, it was with a medical company, which isn’t necessarily something I’m super interested in. It was an easy decision, really, but still–it paid good money and it would have gotten me on a good writing and editing track. I gotta do what’s best for me, though, and that wouldn’t have been right.

    I totally get what you mean about feeling behind. All of my college friends have jobs and houses and I’m just sitting here loafing on an air mattress and working at a coffee shop. Still, I have to remember how far I’ve come in the last year. How Thailand changed me for the better and how yes, I’m chasing my dream to live a life in DC and no, dreams don’t come to fruition over night.

    We’re both on our own journey’s, Amelia, and we’ve both had a pretty incredible year post-undergrad. We may not be as far along as some of our peers, but you’re right–this life isn’t a race. We’ll get there in our own time. Wherever “there” is. I’m not even really quite sure.

    Best of luck with your library applications!

Leave a comment