Weekend Coffee Share: Rainy Days

If we were having coffee, we’d be huddled indoors with our noses pressed against the windows, which are rain splattered.  I’d be drinking a strong cup of tea. What would you be drinking?

It’s our first rainy day in a long time and I’m grateful.  We’ve been battling near-drought conditions on my family’s farm, which has been stressful.  Irrigating eats up time we need to spend doing other work.  We have needed a solid soaking for weeks and it’s finally here!  So far, we have gotten over an inch and a half and I expect more will boil up this evening.

I love rainy days.  I love curling up in the big armchair with a book.  I’ve spent most of my day in the pages of Jojo Moyes’ Silver Bay–so although it looks like I’m in the house, I’m actually on a boat in Australia watching whales.  It’s absolutely delightful!

If we were having coffee, you would know that my parents have left for a two-week road trip to Oregon.  My brother and I will be holding down the fort while they’re away.  Hopefully, we won’t drive each other too crazy.   I’m both looking forward to the quiet and dreading it.  I’m a sucker for solitude, but also get lonely quickly.  I don’t have a very vibrant social life, so chances are good I’ll spend most of my free time these next couple of weeks entertaining myself.

If we were having coffee, I’d give you an update on my job search.  I continue to send out a few applications each week and, on Thursday, had a meeting with the Assistant Director of my regional library system.  She was in charge of the library I volunteered at in high school and remembered me.  We had a long talk about the field of library science in which I asked lots of questions and gave her an application for all the jobs they currently have available. I’m really hoping that something comes of it!

That’s about all my news–we’re in the dog days of summer and life is pretty boring.  So I’m going to hand things over to you.  What would you share over coffee? 

This post is part of the Weekend Coffee Share link up at Part Time Monster

10 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Rainy Days

  1. Tikeetha T July 23, 2016 / 5:42 pm

    I’m happy to hear that you now have rain. Droughts are the worst. Sending you lots of love from #theweekendcoffeeshare

    • Amelia July 24, 2016 / 9:25 am

      Thanks so much!! 🙂

  2. bettylouise31 July 23, 2016 / 9:45 pm

    Happy forvyour rain. Sitting in a chair with a book is one my favorite pass time Good Luck with your job search.

    • Amelia July 24, 2016 / 9:25 am

      Thanks so much!

  3. thecoffeebeanbrain July 24, 2016 / 2:52 am

    I always love the idea of rain, a cup of tea and a good book. Best pass time ever. 🙂

    • Amelia July 24, 2016 / 9:26 am

      Yes it is!! 🙂

  4. brittabottle July 24, 2016 / 9:06 am

    Well, I’d be having something cold–an iced americano probably–because it has been sweltering these last few days in DC!

    Best of luck with your job search, Amelia. Hope the talk with the Assistant Director of your library system will bring some exciting leads. It’s always good to have connections. I’ve had a couple people in the last few days who work on The Hill–one from Morris and one from high school–tell me they’ll let me know if they hear of any positions that might suit me, so that’s reassuring. It’s stressful on my end right now, but such is life sometimes when you decide to get up and move across the country without a job.

  5. Diana July 24, 2016 / 12:08 pm

    Glad to hear that you’re getting some much-needed rain! We’ve had summer storms most afternoons here, but that’s fairly normal for summers in the deep south.

    Good luck with the job hunt. I’m on one of my own, too, hoping that one of the colleges where I put in my application will need m to teach a class or two.

  6. amiewrites74 July 24, 2016 / 6:19 pm

    Thank goodness for the rain! Sounds like a perfect day to curl up with a good book. Best of luck with the job search. I hope the meeting brings some leads.

    • Amelia July 24, 2016 / 9:36 pm

      Thanks, Amy! I hope so too! 🙂

Leave a comment