Weekend Coffee Share 6/10/17

If we were having coffee, we’d be meeting at my local coffee shop once again.  Because summer is finally here, I’d be sipping an iced vanilla latte on the back deck, basking in the morning sun.  What would you be having?

It is so good to be back with you all again!  I just returned from a vacation out west and, while hiking in the mountains was a great adventure, I missed these weekly chats.  What have you all been up to?

It’s crazy that summer is finally here!  Spring is slow to come here in Minnesota, but summer appears in the blink of an eye.  One day, you’re wearing light sweaters complaining about too much rain and, the next, it’s eighty degrees.

With the sunny weather and kids being out of school, the library is busy this time of year.  Our annual Summer Reading Program is up and running.  We had a kids musician come for our opening program this week, which was really fun.  Next week, I’m launching Lego Club, summer preschool story time, and having the local princess candidates in to read to the kids.  I’ve been in post-vacation catch-up mode all week, running around like a crazy person, but it’s good to be back.

This weekend, I technically have nothing on my calendar, but lots of little things to do.  My priority is to build a cat house for the new kittens I’m hoping to get next week, but I also want to go see Wonder Woman.  Plus, there’s the inevitability of housework.

And now for my vacation!

I just got back from a big road trip out West–the first I’ve done without my parents.  While our destination was Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks, we also spent time at Badlands National Park and stopped at Devil’s Tower National Monument.  While we definitely had our fair share of bumps along the way, it was a fantastic week of camping and exploring.  I had never driven in the mountains before, so going through the high passes with steep corners and cliffs was daunting… but we made it through okay.

At the Tetons, we did a lot of hard hiking around lakes and into the canyons between the mountains.  My friend talked me into renting a canoe for a few hours and taking it on Lake Jackson–I’m so glad she did!  The conditions were perfect for being on the water and I don’t think I’ve ever canoed in a more beautiful place.

At Yellowstone, we camped at Madison Junction and, each day, picked a new part of the park to explore.  We chose a few key destinations, then explored whatever pull-offs and scenic byways that struck our fancy.  It was really touristy, even for early in the season, and the crowds were sometimes annoying.  My favorite thing we did was hike 1,353 feet through the snow to the summit of Mt. Washburn.  We had the trail almost completely to ourselves and, at the top, had stunning views of the entire park.  We could see for 75 miles, it was incredible!

While on our trip, I took video footage of scenic or interesting things on my iPone.  I plan on putting it together into a travel montage video–I’ll let you know when it’s done so you can see.  In the meantime, here are some photos:

That’s all I’ve got this week.  What have you been up to lately?  Have any weekend plans?  What would you share over coffee?  Head over to Nerd in the Brain and check out the Link Up to see what others have been up to.

16 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share 6/10/17

  1. trentpmcd June 10, 2017 / 11:06 am

    I love the Jackson Hole/Yellowstone area. The last two times I was there it was late June and the trails were all snow above about 8,500 feet. Were you limited by snow and ice? I’m glad you had a great time. I can’t wait to see your photo post.

    • Amelia June 10, 2017 / 6:40 pm

      It’s such a great area! It was my third time visiting. We did have quite a bit of snow–it kept us from going very far into the canyons in the Tetons. Our hike up Mt. Washburn at Yellowstone was all on snow, but it made it more fun.

  2. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist June 11, 2017 / 3:31 am

    Thanks for sharing your trip away. The scenery looks awesome. It must have been a wonderful place to hike and canoe. Hope you managed to get your cat house built. A good weekend project. It sounds like you are getting numerous kittens. How many? Thanks for coffee and have a good week.

    • Amelia June 11, 2017 / 9:43 am

      Thanks, Irene! It was a wonderful trip. I’m going to be getting two kittens–our sixteen year old mama barn cat just passed away and it’s time for a fresh start. I hope you have a great week!

  3. vernette June 11, 2017 / 1:32 pm

    Your trip sounds really amazing and your photos tell a lovely story. I am looking forward to your travel montage. There is something truly special about exploring this world we live in. It makes us realize just how small we really are in the grand scheme of things!

    • Amelia June 12, 2017 / 12:43 pm

      Thank you! I completely agree–weather it’s foreign cities or out in the mountains, travel is so humbling because it brings home my smallness. I’m almost finished with the travel montage and hope to include it in next week’s coffee share post. Have a great week! 🙂

      • vernette June 12, 2017 / 8:12 pm

        Looking forward to it! And Same to you.

  4. Britta June 11, 2017 / 7:27 pm

    If we were having coffee, I’d be having a earl gray tea latte with almond milk, no simple syrup, on the house courtesy of my employee discount at my coffee shop. I’d probably be behind the counter, actually. Maybe pouring YOUR vanilla latte. 🙂 I work at a lot of weekends.

    If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that a lot of things are up in the air right now. I’m looking to move on from my coffee shop, but won’t take a new job until it feels right. Intuitively, I feel I have a lot of good things coming for me in the coming months. I’m trying to be patient and see what happens.

    I’d also tell you that I’d love to get back into blogging more, but everytime I sit down to write a post, I get a couple paragraphs in a lose interest/can’t seem to finish. I don’t like to push my personal writing, so again, I’m practicing patience and seeing what happens.

    Awesome pictures, Amelia. So glad to hear you had a great trip! I loved the Instagram post about your young camper neighbor commenting on your high level of cool. Best of luck with all you have going on this summer at the library!

    • Amelia June 12, 2017 / 1:19 pm

      Britta! I’m so glad that you commented–I was thinking about you the other day. Thank you for the vanilla latte–it is excellent. Even if you’re moving on from the coffee shop in the future, barista skills are wonderful ones to have!

      I know exactly what you mean about blogging… I’ve been sticking to formulaic posts lately (coffee shares and book posts). Every time I sit down to write anything of substance (for the blog or no), I just can’t seem to get anything to come out right.

  5. Pamela Morse June 11, 2017 / 8:05 pm

    Your trip looks amazing. I would love to go to Yellowstone for a long visit. Great pics. Thanks for coffee.

    • Amelia June 12, 2017 / 1:19 pm

      Thanks! I hope you have a great week! 🙂

  6. Rowena June 12, 2017 / 6:32 pm

    Hi Amelia,
    Wow! Your trip looks amazing. I’ve never been to America. However, your photos are quite inspiring. I live in Greater Sydney, Australia a short walk from the beach where it’s mostly flat. Certainly, no snow caps around here even in Winter. That scenery looks breathtaking and your energetic joy is fantastic.
    xx Rowena

    • Amelia June 12, 2017 / 9:54 pm

      Hi Rowena! I’ve never been to Australia, but I’d like to someday! I’m glad that you enjoyed the pictures. Living by the beach sounds amazing–I would love to go for long walks as the sun sets. 🙂 I hope you have a great week!

      • Rowena June 13, 2017 / 6:28 am

        Thanks Amelia. For sunset beach walks, you’re best going to Western Australia where you’re virtually guaranteed a sunset over the ocean. Our beach faces South so we do get some great beach sunsets as well, especially when there are bush fires. The sky can go really orange and you get the reflections in the water…magic.
        Hope you get to Australia one day. I am starting to want to go to America, but it won’t be for a few years unless we win lotto.

      • Amelia June 14, 2017 / 6:30 pm

        I will keep your advice in mind for when I someday make it to Australia. The sunsets sound amazing! I have several friends who live in Brisbane, so hopefully they’ll take me to some beaches. 🙂 I hope you’re able to make it to America. There’s a lot of bad going on politically, but it’s a beautiful country–so diverse in both people and scenery! It’s crazy how expensive airfare is and going anywhere Australia from means a very, very long flight. It’s definitely worth the trip, though! 🙂

      • Rowena June 14, 2017 / 10:36 pm

        Thanks, Amelia. The cost is a huge factor with overseas travel, especially with the four of us. Bearing that in mind, you want to time that trip of a lifetime well and I don’t think the current situation makes for good timing. It is however, a great time for people wanting to visit Australia or New Zealand, which at least appear safer.

Leave a comment